image

A TRULY HARD REALITY CHECK FOR A XBOX ONE PLAYER

For those that know me and have read this site’s articles on competition importance, know that I am a fair gamer. If a game or console does something truly outstanding they deserve credit. If that same said company does something no so good I write about it. I have expressed my support for Microsoft and Sony throughout. I have had my let downs and my highs for both. Microsoft I feel has the most complete gaming system while Sony has the most powerful gaming set up for hardware for consoles. It’s the easiest to program for and their studios are great.  Microsoft has the best network for gaming while Sony is ignorant in their knowledge to produce a decent network. There is no perfect system people, however one thing I have come to see and can no longer keep ignoring issues seen over and over; Microsoft is truly the weakest in terms of graphics and it’s not about the developers as I previously felt. Look I know microsoft can produce amazing graphics with the right programing but the amount of games that don’t reach 1080p hit almost 50% or more of all their games. Sony on the other hand has had a total of only 5 games that hit 900p instead of 1080p and 0 to hit 720p out of all the games released and coming. This number could drop the closer they get to launch. Look this isn’t fanboy stuff here. It’s just the truth. We are talking about next generation consoles here. There is really no excuse for microsoft to have games come in like this. I know sometimes it’s the developer that just don’t want to try like with Diablo 3 who tried to ship at 900p until microsoft had to get to them to do their job right and ended up with 1080p. This type of example makes me feel like it’s the developers at times. But there is just too many games showing this over and over. Then you have devleopers pushing out 720p games, again not acceptable even more so.

image

I wonder what levels of effort is needed to make a game come in at 1080p vs 900p and 720p. Whatever it is its obviously not something they want to do or can do for the xbox one. While some are lazy, everyone can’t be lazy and it’s just too many of them to ignore it. I’m beginning to think that there truly may be a limit that has been reached for microsoft games in terms of graphics throughout these 2nd Gen titles launches. Even the ones that hit 1080p didn’t beat the ps4’s version of the same game.This could explain how graphics are getting better for ps4 and worst for xbox one. It’s sad, truly sad because this will only get worse each version of game that comes out. Microsoft has done so much for gaming and has truly went out of their way to make things right and better for its fans. Yes this is out of the need to catch up and I’m sure they would not be doing the things they are doing if they were winning. So I don’t support the company as some kinda of a saint. Ps4 is just more powerful for gaming, maybe not the 40% range but enough to make a difference in graphics across the board, third party and first.

image

Maybe it’s just time to face the facts and get in line with the ps4 push. I know I’m going to be lied too, I know their network is going to be a issue but when all is done graphics and overall experience is going to be better for the ps4 console because the games sales on their system the most and the developers tend to work harder for the platform that effectively allows them to share their vision the best and that’s the ps4. Yes there will be some major jewels for microsoft like Halo 5 (not for me),Quantum break, Scalebound possibly, and sunset overdrive maybe but without the advantage of my sports titles looking and playing better on my xbox one I fear I maybe coming to the end of my usage for it. I’m actually tired of trying to figure out why my favorite game is coming in at a weaker resolution on my xbox one vs my ps4. I’m tired of blaming the developers even though some of this is them. I’m tired of trying to anticipate a better outcome for xbox one. I just want the best way to play my sport tiles and a couple of none sport titles and I’m happy. I’m afraid this will be with the ps4 only.

