image

image

   Look this is just the truth in its purest. The beats sucked in sound quality for solo’s in the past. But yet it was the number one seller. Even with solo hd the sound still didn’t live up to the hype. For me the Mixr’s were easily the best sounding headphones in Beats line up. I didn’t like nor have I ever liked the whole concept of where something on you neck or head that was a big as your face. Even though elements of the Studios and Pros were very good, it didn’t fit me. However the biggest issue with the Mixr’s were that they weren’t good for long time use. Frankly put, they hurt , especially for those of us that wear glasses. So when the Solo 2’s came out I was very dismissive about them and the beat line up period. But rumors started to grow more and more. Reviews started to grow and consumers started pushing out support for the new Solo 2. The word on the net was, according to the Beats, that this new lineup was going to tackle the sound quality issues head on and promised to deliver on a better experience. So after my failed try in playing music through my Mixr’s away from home and my mix deck, that I mainly used them for, I felt that I had enough of them and wanted to see what else I could go back with. I wanted something I could use out and about more frequently that wouldn’t kill my head and ears after 20 minutes. Enter the beat Solo 2’s. When I first got them on I noticed right away that I would be able to wear them a lot longer than I did with my Mixr’s. They felt a lot better than the Mixr’s thanks to the level of cushion. But this wasn’t the surprise . My surprise was that I found them to be weaker than I hoped…at first. My ears are conditioned for the Mixr so much that although good the sound wasn’t hitting as hard I thought. But I knew I needed more time into the sound I was pushing to it. After about 1 hour I noticed that the headphones were still on my head and I wasn’t rubbing my ears yet in pain. Win already! I also notice that the sound quality became better, actually much better the longer they played. Some call it “burn in ” some say it’s a hoax to say that this exist. I can’t say what happen but I am telling you the sound quality I now hear as I write this article isn’t the same quality I heard before. The bass had gotten bigger and bigger. The clarity is starting to knock things out the park with every passing moment. I hearing levels and different mid never heard by my Mixr’s or any other headphone prior. Every song used is being killed in clarity and perfect bass thumps that I have never had. I am hear to tell you guys believe the hype on these and allow yourself time with them to truly hear it’s potential. Another thing to make sure is that your song list are quality levels of playback. The headphone can be limited with crappy recording levels of the songs you are playing back and what you are playing them back on. So I will be continuing my use of the Solo’s as my only headphone for the next couple of weeks and will give my final grade then. But as of right now I feel this may just replace my Mixr’s and take over my headphone number one spot.

