image

Let’s be honest here. Advertising is key to a lot of products that successful. It can make the difference between being noticed or not. As much as other brands get trashed for advertising the V Moda m100 are filled with advertising on their box and every poster or ad you see, yet still praised. To their credit they are good ads too. They are very convincing and make you feel that the product might be everything it says and more like all ads should. They have a lot of customization to them.

image

I mean you can turn this into your own ad for yourself just by wearing them. Not too many items, let alone headphones, let you do this. It’s a very nice touch and again makes you want them. Then we get to the awards(like 6 or more from top sites like CNET) they have gotten this year( even though this year just started)and last year. The awards claim them the best headphones for Djs and for normal wear. They say they are amazingly tough because they have been miltary grade tested. To top this off they are backed by a 2 year warranty and an immortality warranty( which basically says that they will replace the headphones for half the price if anything happens to them at any point of your lifespan. This is incredible! I give so much kudos points to them for all this stuff being presented to you in a package and brand. All this and we haven’t even gotten to the sound yet. The sound is very nice ,clean, and punchy when needed. They have a very good sound stage and separation of music tones and sounds. They are not audiophiles reference headphones. So if you like listening to classical music and using your headphones for reference work these aren’t for you. They are for people that love music like dance, rnb, rock, etc. They give you clear reproduction of vocals and drives home bass where needed. Are they as powerful as others, no not as powerful but good enough. They also have a 50mm dual drivers inside them that separates bass and treble channels when you are listening to them. This gives a little advantage of single drives headphones in world depending on what’s playing and how the song separates their own instruments and sound effects. They make those hard to point out faint sounds a tad more noticeable(but not by much). Now it’s not a big huge pick up difference but if you want point out something that shows what dual drivers can do you have it.
image

Depending what headset you have come from you may be blown away by these or you might just be barely impressed and better yet you just might be bored by them period. Each set of ears are different for each person. Now to comfort. This was a sensitive area for me. I have to tell you that I really, really hated the pair I got. They were so tight and cut under my ears very tightly where my jaw line connected under my ears. This is a pressure point and it was very painful after about 45 minutes tops. I actually could feel the discomfort within 2 minutes but it became painful to the point that I had to take them off and leave them off for at least an hour or more. This wasn’t good for me. So I heard that they are need to be stretched out. So I did this overnight by putting them around my Beats Studio’s box. When I got up they felt like I remembered them from the store when I tried them on. This was a huge change for me. So I might give them more testing today and tomorrow before I decide to keep them or take them back. At first they were going back no matter what. Pain isn’t a feeling I want when I listen to music. But so far so good. They don’t hurt, they feel a lot more loser and it’s been over a hour. If I keep them I will tell you that it’s not because they were better than the headphones I use currently now, the Studio’s 2013 editions. No, if I keep these it’s because they are good enough in the sound and comfort zone for me so I can return my Beats because I don’t like being like everybody else. I hate walking around looking like I’m apart a tribe in a crowded space of other people with the same headphones on. Basically everybody has beats. They own 65% of the market share. Yes they are the best overall sounding headphones on the market for me. But I could go with something else just “a little” less powerful as the beats for the sake of being different. Honestly this is what I was just looking for, sound quality like the beats studio’s and yet different and unique. Right now I’m not sold that these can be those yet. I’m trying to give them a good run before they are returned. But right now I give these 8 out of 10 Stars . I do recommend them to you if you are looking for something other than beats and yet still want that headset that is geared to house music, rap, rnb, rock, trace elements. Confirmation coming later.

Update: OK after hours into it and I can find nothing more appealing about these headphones than before. Yes the fit was better and did loosen up but it still didn’t do anything enough for me in the sound areas to make it worth given up my Beats Studio’s 2’s. Now maybe it’s just my set but I’m telling you guys even when I took both pair to work and allow others to test them out. They went through the same things I did. At first they thought the V moda’s were better just listening to them and going by memory of the studio’s but once the played the same songs crossing both headphones within seconds of each other they clearly and quickly found the beats overwhelmingly in favor over the V moda’s. This headphones are good, trust me they are, but they just aren’t good enough for me to keep and take back my Studio’s. It’s a popular thing to try and bash the Beats headphones because so many people buy them but this gen beats are bought for a lot more reasons than looks guys. And if the V moda’s are what you guys claim are great then people need to shut up about the hate of the Beats because they are better.

