image

Well with the Beats studio’s 2013 version beating the V-MODA M100’s so easily I start to look for yet another challenger. The only name that comes up is the ATH-m50x by Technica. They are a gorgeous pair of beauties I can say this without even laying eyes on them in person.  I love the color style and look but this isn’t why I listen, sound is. However, not so sure about the size vs the beats studios. They do look a bit bigger. Hopefully they won’t be too big over the beats studio’s. Based on what you get I’m already questioning the need to even test them. I hear they are a balanced headset(aka only for monitoring and classical music) from most people but there are a few that say they have very good and tight bass with great highs. So I’m not sure who to believe. Another issue I have without even seeing them myself is the unboxing showed that the units has a mobile cable without a in-line mic for answering phone calls. Who puts out a headset for mobile use that has no way of answering your phone calls coming in you cell phone? That’s almost a deal breaker for me. I can’t tell you how useful this feature has been for all my headphones I buy. I use it so much. Not having it would be a major thing for me. So the sound on this headset better destroy my beats studio’s. If they don’t I can’t see myself staying with these just being marginly better in sound just to give up my in-line mic because I use my headset with my phone 90% of the time. So I will let you guys know if I do pick these puppies up. I am not going to lie I feel like these are just another failed attempt at audiophile people’s rage against anything not made for classical music and monitoring. I want to dance, I want to feel my music, the warmth of the vocals and bass line reaching my very center of my brain in both clarity and the power of a bass line that is both sub and forward without mudding the vocals and other instruments. This is the Beats studio’s 2’s guys! If you are still hating,  I’m sorry I can’t hear you.

UPDATE:
image

Well sorry folks these are the Stats on the Technica! Only 99 dbs!!! What are they thinking? I haven’t seen or purchased headphones with db’s below 100 since I was 25 years old, I’m 40 now. There is no way I’m putting myself through this. I don’t care how may people convince themselves that this headphone is great. The v moda’s were at 103dbs and they suffered against the Beats studio’s with their 108db ratios. I’m not wasting my time or money on a old tech with 99 db ratio and without a in-line mic headphone, sorry. Beats Studio’s are the best for me even though a lot of people have them, I can’t give up the sound quality. So there will be no next headset comparison unless it’s a beats produce. We are done,done,done!!

