image

The mighty king of the ring headset The Audio Technica ATH-M50x are here! The specs on these didn’t leave to much to look forward to in my opinion when I saw the dB ratios compared to my Beats. But I thought I should get them anyway because it’s the only way I can properly give a opinion not a assumption. As I pointed out I really wanted to be fair. I don’t care what brand I have on my head as long as they give me the best fit for my music. With my equalizer on my phone I felt hope for being able to make any needed adjustments to try make this as far of fight as possible. I can tell you without a shadow of doubt that people will say all headphones have their strengths and weaknesses. No in-line mic controls for forwarding or pausing is a big one weakness for the m50x. It’s strength is definitely the highs and powerful clarity to the point it almost hurts your hears. This would not probably be the case if you didn’t have to turn up the volume so loud in order to bleed out the outside noise and the low Dbs ratios. But to my surprise these headphone are the absolute worst for noise isolation for me. I can have a flat out conversation with someone next to me with the volume up to100 on some songsNow I got the right eq settings that gave this headphone it proper sonic response. I will say the headphones hold there own with a good amount of bass even with just decent isolation. Still not the bass the felt in the Studio’s of course but it delivers on enough bass that one can live with. And maybe with enough burn in time these will get better or better eq settings. Right now I’m impressed overall and these actual live up to some of the praise. It’s still early in the review and they could go south once I start my comparisons on a song by song comparison. So I can’t tell you for sure where this is going to go …more soon.

The morning after :

Well the wife test has been given and my wife has listen to both back to back with different tracks. With hears she feels that the M50x has a lot of good about it with its clarity and highs. But she felt like the unit was just all over the place and didn’t really sit well on her head because of of all the different swivels points. She believed the Studio’s were much more comfortable and stable . She also believed that the m50x were very underpowered compared to the Studio’s level of volume. Then came the absent volume controls or in-line mic. This was the most talked about or disappointing thing about the m50x’s for her. The thought of having to unplug the headphones and pull out the phone just to answer the phone or change the track killed a lot of the portable use for the M50x. Lastly of course, was the bass. While the m50x had very tight bass the levels of the Studio hit a little harder for the sub bass. She didn’t have a clear winner for this though. She did find a weakness for most a strength for her on the m50x. She said she liked the fact that the m50x didn’t have great isolation and she could hear other things around her for safety reasons and believes the beats noise canceling was a danger for her. So when I asked her her final choice. She picked the Beats still. The lack of controls, level of volume power, and finally comfort beat out the m50x’s clarity superior levels and none isolation sounds for her.

Next up my comparison test and thoughts..
image

Being that I mix house ,trance, dance, and drum and bass my previous headphones that I used was the Beats mixers. I find using the Studio’s are not as easy to but still capable of use for my system. The stiffness of the cases doesn’t give way very easily when I am pulling off one side to the next to hear speakers vs my incoming feed. Well the Technica’s are better for my pioneer dj deck. It’s higher details help out a lot when mixing my songs, giving great separations to the different beats and sounds. This goes a long way with mixing. Now let’s go to looks. I’m not going to lie I love the look and feel of my Beats studio’s vs the m50x black. I do wish I had found the blue and tan because they look more pleasing than the Black and Silver model in my opinion. I know this shouldn’t have anything to do with sound but I had to at least mention it. On to the sound. The Beats studio’s are nothing like the old version of the Beats. The sound stage and highs are so much more exciting and don’t drown out each others. The headphones are made for house, rap, rnb, trance and the like. These headphones aren’t meant for classic music even though this still plays and sounds good they won’t bring out the level of details that the m50x’s or others like them would. Beats advertises nothing more than and nothing less. So to aspect them to do so is unfair. So even though the m50x sound better with this genre I don’t discredit the Beats for not getting this genre down. So what about all other genres of music? Put it simply it’s a matter of warmer sound vs more of a metallic sound field. Yes the m50x sound amazing in details once you turn up the volume enough. But the beats has this this sub bass thing down perfect while the M50x is almost absent there. They have bass don’t get me wrong but only levels of bass that are higher. The lower the sub bass the weaker the bass output is for the m50x. Some will say it’s what the song was meant to sound like and will accuse the Beats of unnatural focus on bass. But songs on my pioneer mix deck and the generic speakers thump louder bass and mimics the sonic output areas(not as nice sounding though) my Beats do in same songs. So I know it’s not just the Beats that are forcing the bass feel. It’s there to feel and meant to felt but the m50x don’t hit it unless it’s a more powerful bass signature. To its credit when it does hit it, it’s tight and very pleasing when you add in the highs and clarity. But I found myself waiting for these moments as they didn’t come often as they did with the beats. If it was more consistent we wouldn’t even need to have a review because it wouldn’t be worth comparing the headphones as the m50x would be the undisputed champ. But because it’s not consistent on the outplay of its bass signature I find myself missing that warmth and emotion the Beats put through while playing same song. But at the same time I was able to adjust my equalizer on my phone to help make up for some of this lack, making the picking of a winner all the more difficult. While I was able to get better sub bass response than they first gave with the help of the EQ the Beats weren’t able to reach the m50x’s clarity and highs with the EQ. Finally, even I though the m50x had made some serious ground against the Beats my glasses started making my head behind my ears hurt as I wore them over time, something the Beats didn’t do at anytime. So we have a headphone that can reach higher details, doesn’t have the sonic reach as the other, and hurts after a while thanks to my glasses vs a headphone that has no comfort issues has higher sonic levels and consistent bass, then has in-line mic and phone controls which the other didn’t have . Who wins???????
image

image
Look, I was going to go easy on you and not hurt your feelings”….

Umm….nice opponent but yet another one falls. BEATS STUDIO’S RULE!! Try again. So it first beat the CNET king of all headphones easily and they took on the the old and faithful and purest champion and took a few hits but in the end the smoke clears and it’s still THE STUDIO’S (…”No Asgard….Asgard”). While the highs and clarity aren’t the metallic they are clear and doesn’t have to sacrifice Bass to get there. It’s a joke that the audiophiles says Beats have too much bass but there headset champion have too little. Both example show no perfect headset formula because all music isn’t made the same way. So once again Beats win because there is no equal to them for the style of music they promote the use for these headphone for. My music, my headphone! OVER AGAIN!

Technica ATH-M50x rating: 8.5 out of 10.

