image

Probably the most successful smart watch to hit period in 2014 was the Moto 360. It’s approach was centered around delivering the quality of a watch that looked like a watch, only round. Unlike the apple watch and the Asus watch, round was their claim to fame. In the start of 2014 there weren’t many, if any round face smart watches. Most developers decided to make miniature versions of the square face phones and put them on your wrist. To Moto credit their approach was bold and needed in a world of squares.

image

They originally came out with leather bands only but later released a more stylish metal version of the watch along with replacement bands for those who didn’t wait for the metal version to hit. So I picked up mine with metal also.

image

Now, while I was very impressed with my asus watch my wife wasn’t. She said she just couldn’t help but feel that square design limited the overall look of the watch since it wasn’t round like most watches. Normally I wouldn’t take her advice when it came down to electronics but this was more of a fashion and watch piece just as much as a technology piece so I took her words to heart. But this didn’t make me want to give up the Asus watch yet. No, what made me want the Moto was the watch faces. Yes you get your hands on a lot of faces with the Asus. But what I found was that 70% of them, if not more, looked much more amazing on the moto 360 than the Asus. The sqaure design vs the circle design was no contest. The Moto 360 circular faces won over the square forced images of different faces on the Asus. So this is what lead me to do my comparisons and testing of a new smart watch. So far I have tested for two days. I have found that the battery life was the first real concern. When I first took it out I let it charge for about 80 percent and it was down to twenty percent in two hours. I downloaded all the updates and rest the watch to start completely over again. After that it start not listening to my voice commands and would show its offline. So I deleted all software off my phone and rest the watch while looking for the receipt. Yes I was ready to take it back that night. I had had enough. But I felt it was only fair to give it another go. I put it on the charger and downloaded all my phone software again and went to bed. I woke up at 7am and took it off the charger….it’s 11:17pm and both my phone and watch still are at 20%. So this is good. I basically used it very moderately throughout day. I tried my best not to waste energy while using it and only used for time and answering maybe 7 texts and emails throughout the day.  While I’m happy the battery was better I didn’t have to pace myself with my Asus and it was at 30% when I went to bed.  I will though, give it another day to see if it gets better or if 10% or more juice makes that much difference. Basically the jury is still out.

