image

Well there is a simple yet obvious result to this little experiment, Asus wins! I tried and tested both units thoroughly. Both units had their things they presented better than the other. The Moto 360 was round and with most software face options they looked better round than square. However due to the lcd screen instead of amoled screen on the Asus the faces while looking better round looked fake. It basically look like a person cut out a image of a watch and taped it on the the top of a circle plate. It really didn’t stand out they way I hoped it would. In fact, the images you see in magazines or still shots of the graphics on the Moto 360 isn’t at all what you will get. The the handful of very good square face watches become more and more attractive as the time period of test went bye.

image

The next thing I noticed was that the watch would not keep up with commands or listen to them half of the time for the Moto 360. But with the Asus zen, it was fluid and accurate on everything I said. The Moto 360 would even flat out loose connection with my phone for no reason. With the Asus I never had to worry about drops unless I walked away too far from my phone. Lastly, the battery life was absolutely a headache and nightmare for the Moto. The first 8 hours the unit lost 80% of the charge within 3 hour twice and the other two hours was wasted on resets and reloads trying fix issues with the unit battery and continued dropped singles. With the Asus, once the software downloaded it’s updates and you had all the software loaded for your phone it work without fail. I nevrr had to worry about battery power either.

Bottom line is that I found the Asus for me, the best of all smart watches and most unique and classic looking smart watch that I have seen on the market period. It did exact what it claimed to do and with consistent operation, the Moto 360 however, didn’t. Basically the only real benifit worth anything in my eyes for testing the Moto 360 was to allow it to open my eyes wider to how great of a watch the Asus watch was when you look at what’s left on the shelves.

UPDATE : JUNE 3, 2015…A CHANGE OF GUARD!

image

OK, a watches looks and function are something that can change. As you review things, such things happens that has been always common with Apple; companies send out updates that hurt the functions of the watch right before they release a new one. Not all companies do this but Apple has always done this. As you remember I picked the Zen watch over the Moto 360. I was told after I did this that the battery life I complained about was effected by the “Fit app” and some of the third party faces I was uses. However the watch was returned already before I could test this. My friends that had moto 360 said the battery would increase after the first week or so. Yes I should have looked this up before hand and I didn’t so this is my fault. However I still don’t think it would have stopped me from going back to the zen watch because I still preferred that look over the Moto 360 all silver version I had. A week or two ago we got a new update for android wear and after that update my zen watch went from perfectly useful and quick to out right slow and unresponsive. I would speak to Google and it would write what I said only after 30 or more seconds. Other times it wouldn’t listen at all or never connect. I exchanged it and the same thing was present on the second one. Basically this watch went from a amazing tool to boring and unusable. I basically stopped wearing the watch and went back to my Citizen watch. So one morning I woke up and remembered how much of a waste this watch was for me now so I took it back. It was then that I saw that moto 360 had a great sale going on for its watches at $149.99. So I felt I had nothing to loose, it couldn’t work any worse that the Zenwatch started working. But this time I went with the all black version leather one because I wanted to feel this leather that everybody was so pleased with. I got it and this time I calibrated the battery correctly(allowing full charge and discharge for the first 3 days at least) and ended the fit app from operating in the background and just used the moto default apps for fitness, steps, and heart rates. Now my battery problems are no more. I also can say that the leather does feel really, really good. I don’t even feel it’s on its so soft and lite. The silver steel band one just didn’t feel good on my wrist for some reason. I have lots of steel band watches and they didn’t feel like the first moto did for some reason. So basically so far this moto has been like my friends moto 360 they bragged about. I now see what they are so happy about. It works very well, listens to me and operates like much faster and better than the zenwatch did after the same update was loaded for it. So we will keep this and keep testing this to be sure though.

