image

Microsoft has a lot of steam left guys. They have the most money to spend and possible the greatest leader in console gaming, Phil Spencer. While this doesn’t mean that they will win this generation worldwide, it does show they here to take back their home, the U.S. This is a real possibility and possibly the most concrete thing you can say will happen after e3. Sony is in serious trouble in America because of the absent of first party games. Tomb Raider is the easiest heavy hitter as it will be the lone killer for Christmas this year. But it’s not the obvious ones that has me impressed. It’s the games like Smite and Elite Dangerous.

image

These games are some of the best sellers on pc right now in their genre. Elite Dangerous specifically is my dream game type. I have always wanted to play space fighter games on console. Eve valkerie for the ps4 with Morpheus will be the be end of all things for gaming for me but until then I will enjoy Elite Dangerous this year on my xbox one. Having both system will assure me that I will always have something to play. But this year belongs to Xbox one for my playtime from this point to Christmas. The amount of first party games coming this year for Microsoft is mind blowing and I will love to see how they go about advertising and hyping this up.

image

However I will admit I am a little concerned for Forza 6. The pressure that was put on them, in fact the whole driving game world, from Project Cars isn’t fair to anyone following up behind that effort. Project Cars is so good that I wouldn’t even care if Microsoft didn’t launch Forza 6 this year. But being that it is coming I really hope Microsoft can prove how amazing they are, yet again, with this franchise. It’s going to be really hard but I’m sure they know what they are doing.

image

At the end of the day it really comes down to one word, Halo. It’s the biggest and best they have to offer. It will backed by many millions and it will be pushed and hyped far greater than any other first party game. It alone can make America theirs this year. I can’t wait to see this open world shooter that I keep hearing about for single player campaign mode.

