image

Well it has arrived guys. The Spigen Rugged Case for my Note 5 . Spigen has been my go to case for two generations of phones prior to this one. They have impressed me every single time they have put out products. If it’s not the protection without bulk,  it’s the overall look and form factor that impresses me so. When I got my Note 5 I refused to leave without some sort of quality case and ended up paying $50 for the overpriced Otterbox commuter case for the Note 5. That’s right $50 for a single piece of TPU. While I have no doubt that it will protect it I feel it’s a bit much for a commuter series case. But I did and the next day I purchased a glass shield for the screen. But I knew that I wasn’t going to be happen with the basic looks of the Otterbox. So I went to the net the following day and found a familiar brand name, Spigen. When I looked at what they had to offer the Note 5 owners I was once again impressed. So picked up this case

image

It has a very slim profile and yet still offers protection it says. What I did notice is that it made the bezel feel more like it was design to look over having in the Otterbox. And while both phones had a single layered design to allow easy pop in’s and out’s, to its credit the Otterbox seemed to be have a much lighter weight to it with the phone inside it. With the Spigen I noticed right away that the weight was more fuller and heavier even though it was a single piece of TPU as well. But unlike the Otterbox the Spigen fit was more precise as it wrapped around the Note 5 like a fitted mold.

image

This though made me feel a little less confident that it would take a fall. But according to the site it can. It has air cushion design to absorb shock and protect the phone. So I should be OK although for some reason the same case for the Galaxy S6 plus has a “military drop test” certification stamp on its page where the Samsung Note 5 page for the case doesn’t. So I’m not sure why being that it’s made the same way and its basically the same case. Overall I’m still happy about the case and with the glass screen protection on the Note 5 I think the combination should keep me fine for normal situations. I personally really haven’t been one of those people that break their phones and or is clumsy with them. I follow my rules. I never put it in my lap while driving. I never use it while walking. And I never place anywhere near water or edges of counters or tables. So there you go, some tips for yourself. Overall I have to give this case a solid 8 out 10. Would have given it higher if it was military tested for drops and lighter. Honestly, I thought was two pieces with the way it looks on the back with the carbon fiber highlights but I was wrong. Hope you enjoyed my thoughts.

