image

This fountain pen was a very big unknown but surprisingly great looking pen. Most people who got it seem to think very highly of it. So when I got it I did research and found while some were really impressed others weren’t. I saw a lot of reviews opposite of others. One person would have issues with the Nib and or the outside coating coming off. Others, would have no such problems and think the pen is the best under $100 pen around. I myself thought this as well. I loved the look, weight, and especially the softness, fluid, and soft travel on the writing from the pen. But all that started to fall apart the more the days went by.

image

The first thing I found was the Nib holder would come off with the cap at times. At first it lost its grip around the pen when the cap was on the pen. At first it was secure and wouldn’t twist easily. But all of sudden this turned into a cap the just spun freely while on the top of the pen. This then led to the imagine above. No matter how many times I put it back on it would come off again. So I superglued it back inside the chamber and now this problem is handled. The other problem that came up was the coating showed itself to be easily scratched and came off. I had to buy and use cover up black paint to try and hide it.

image

Mind you, the Cross pen Bailey is still present and kicking with zero issues(I even figured a way to post the top). I guess the old saying has hit again, “You buy cheap, you buy twice”. If it weren’t for the poor quality control this pen could have been my go to pen moving forward. But this is not the case. I give the pen a 7 out of 10 score.

