image

You had to know that this was going to happen. The first pen I got was a very affordable pen, the Jinhao x750. It was my first fountain pen since I was a child. It was much better than any pen I had used in my life. I didn’t think it would get better but then the quality issue started hitting. I was faced once again with my rule being broken. “If you buy cheap you buy twice”. I started looking at more expensive better quality pens. Well I found one thanks to Goulet Pens!.

image

The Pilot Falcon SF with iroshizuku Cerulean Blue! Absolutely beautiful. This pen was roughly $160. While it’s not the most expensive pen it was far more expensive than any pen I had seen in person and diffinitely better quality than my Jinhao. It also was a SF Nib which added more precise writing which I didn’t have with the Medium Nib Jinhao x750.

image

Seen here the Nib spreads and flows so beautiful while you write. It’s like it’s sings and flows to the music it makes upon the paper. You can also get it in a Extra Soft Fine Nib if you so choose. But I didn’t want really really thin letters so I stuck with the Soft Fine Nib. The only thing I needed to get use to was the difference in the wetness. The medium Nib put out way too much ink and wetness resulting in a slippery ride. I got use to that but when I got this it was less slippery and wet but yet more exact in every stroke. I notice after going back and forth that the medium Nib for Jinhao wrote more like a marker while the Pilot wrote more like a expensive feather dipped into exquisite ink. After a half of a day I couldn’t go back.

image

And speaking of feather, another thing that changed things for me while writing with the Falcon was the fact that the pen is the lightest pen I have ever used in my life. I couldn’t believe how light it was. But even though it was light it never made writing difficult. In fact it made it better. Everything from posting it or none posting the pen cap still felt natural. This really aided in the letters or words that I wrote small on page. Something the Jinhao medium Nib could never do.

So basically at the end of the day I found another pen, albeit more expensive pen, but still better pen. I don’t regret the money spent on it and to top it off I have really beautiful ink to use in it. If you can appreciate Pens and Inks I would highly suggest getting one in risen or metal. I have the risen which gives the light feeling but you could like the metal version. It’s $240 though before you consider it. Me personally I  picked the risen to have a lighter feel. Overall I give this Pen a solid 9 out of 10. If it was this light and metal it would have been perfect. I really like this pen guys and hope to keep it to pass on to my Son one day.

