image

The LG 29inch ultrawide monitor is here for Digitalcrack. After my last article about the advantages of ultrawide over the 4k monitors I had to try it out for myself. Well, it’s really a birthday gift for myself and Father’s day gift all in one.

16 millions colors
75hertz
2560px1080p
5ms

image

The wide aspect of the viewing on this monitor comes in handy. It’s really beautiful to see things in a wide angle thus far. And while this monitor is the low end version of the one tested by digital foundry on previous article it seems to be still on point. The added feature of this being a IPS panel vs my other monitor being a TN panel is very noticeable too. The color representation was absolutely on point and realistic. It’s hard to explain but the images on my older TN panel, while vibrate in its own right, didn’t make the images look as real when I look back in comparison. The IPS gives a skin texture like nothing I have seen. And the colors a rich and popping like the TN but more realistic in terms of representation on screen. One image looks like a video game and the other looks more like a window as you look outside. This also has to do with the almost zero bezels present on this LG monitor vs my Asus. The Asus had thicker bezels present and the LG is like almost all screen.

Now the on thing I was concerned about was the milliseconds. Ultra wide montiors have a 5ms normally when compared to my Asus who had a 2ms responds time.  However, playing games actually felt better for timing for some reason. I can’t explain why. I don’t feel a delay difference or should I say I don’t feel a delay that is causing my game play to be off. If anything whatever difference it is makes my gaming timing better. Perhaps it’s because I grew up with slower response times to the point that slower difference matches my own reflexes better. Bottom line it’s still much greater than a tv.

image

Now all I have to do is complete my PC build and I should have things in place. When this happens I will get even great graphics than I have with my ps4. Right now I’m using the wide display options for consoles because current console can’t do the resolution this montior has the ability to do natively. The good thing is that even the up-converted wide screen option keeps things on point and still makes the graphics better than they have ever been on my ps4 in my opinon. This opinion may very as some like playing consoles on this with black bars on the sides and it doesn’t bother them. For me, I’ll take the wide-screen option. That’s the whole reason I brought a ultra wide monitor.  If I wanted to play it in a square format I would have just keep playing the monitor I had.

image

So I guess the question is whether or not I will keep it and what my final score will be on this. This is a tricky position. I don’t have enough time to really give it a final review and therefore haven’t decided if I will keep it. I did just add a box to extended the height of the monitor that makes it look even more nicer. The cost of the monitor was affordable ($249)but I can’t act like I wouldn’t have wanted to try out the bigger brother. It’s just way too much money than I am willing to spend on monitors right now. I can see maybe $399.99 but nothing more. So I know for sure I can’t get the bigger 34inch ultrawide for this so it’s really a mute point at this point in time. I really just want to know how much difference it makes on my current setup before I give this a grade. One thing to take pride in is that the 34inch version reviewed by digitalfoundry had the exact resolution as mine so that means a smaller screen would have a crisper image. I will give it about a week or two and I’m sure I will have the final review.

