image

The cat is out of the bag. Microsoft has acknowledged that the new Xbox one S will up- convert 1080p games to 4k resolution. This is big especially for a game console that starts off at $299.99! This is what I expected would happen and is the reason I got rid of my Xbox. Even though I loved Phil Spencer the lack of games exclusives and the abandonment of the current system was enough for me to leave until they came out with their next system. I knew I wasn’t gone forever but I felt no need to continue to invest in the current system.

image

Now let’s get this out of the way. The fact that Microsoft didn’t revile the fact that the newer S system will up-covert standard 1080p games to 4k leaves a bit of a distrust in my mouth. Because essentially what you are saying is that the newer system is better at game graphics over the standard system. This then, without a doubt makes the Xbox S superior to the original system hands down. Now instead of pacifying the 20 million early adaptors feeling that they still basically have the same system – 4k movies, you have made it clear that they don’t and they indeed are the last on the pole for overall graphics in games and movies. For those of us like me who have a 4k displays luckily we are going to be fine and happy with this. But I can imagine the venom that others who don’t have this system are about to spit. Can you blame them? It was quite sneaky of them not to tell people about this fact at e3. This way you have people walking away and feeling neutral about the system upgrades and hopeful towards possibly upgrading to Scorpio. I have to admit that this is something I would have expected from Sony more so than Microsoft. They normally disclose all up front even if it meant making people mad. Looks like they took a page out of Sony’s style and based on pre-orders, they have benefited from it. I know for a fact that I have pre-ordered one myself but thought to sell it before this news hit. And then I messed around and made my custom controller and that really nailed it home that I was going to come back to fold.

image

Another huge thing that happened that helped me make up my mind was my ps4 giving me errors like below. After seeing that over and over again I felt It’s probably a good idea to keep two systems.

image

I added up all the things that matter. I love Phil Spencer and their approach. I love the fact that they listen and develop for the gamers on updates. I have 1ms 4k monitor with 60hz capabilities through hdmi 2.0 and display ports in place now. I love the new Club feature that makes finding friends of like minds more accessible. I don’t stream and most importantly don’t care about the console sold numbers. I love their controller and believe it’s the best controller ever made. I play sports games,driving games,  open world, and fighting games and I get that with them. And lastly they have a way for me listen to music in the background now and a way to port over Spotify music. So they meet my requirements and I have all things in place for the new console to be useful. Here we come again Microsoft. 

