For some time now I have fought the issues of giving up on gaming. It has happened 3 times in the last 5 years. This last time it was so great that I actually just built a pc and focused on using a Pc. Well using a pc didn’t spark my interest either and then I thought I was trouble. I knew one day I would stop playing games but I really wasn’t ready to stop now but I just didn’t feel that connection with gaming anymore. So I recently picked back up my Xbox one S because my son has one and he wanted to play against me on separate consoles. While I have had both the Xbox one s and PS4 pro I never play both at the same time. For the last 5 months I have been playing the PS4 pro only since its release. But something happened when I started to play the Xbox one S again. After about 2 days of random plays I started to feel that fever. The connection to the controller, which is the best in the world, kicked in first. The ability to have that “all in one” system for the 4k movies/gaming when my wife and I had date night kicked in. That effortless connection masterpieces for online with the addition of clubs and beam have opened up another world for me. And then it hit me. What was the common denominator on every single past event when I wanted to stop playing games? It was when I was using my PS4 system. And every single time I found that love again it was because of the Xbox systems. The sure amount of features all the way from gaming to tv features shows, even the faster download speeds feature added recently shows a much more complete the Xbox eco system vs the PlayStation is. 

This system and its vision from Phil Spencer is what I need for gaming to continue in my life at least. So I really hope they knock it out the park at E3 for the game side of things. They really need something in place that shows dominance in both third party graphics as well as first party.  And I trust in Phil to deliver this. Yes, I know PlayStation has the most dominate numbers in console sells and has the most exclusive titles this year and maybe even next year. But what I have notice is that I don’t take advantage of those games when I play a PlayStation console exclusively. Take MLB 17, I couldn’t wait for that game to come out and once it did I played like 3 games since it’s release. I hoped it would be the spark I needed, thinking my problem was with gaming all together. My thoughts was based on the fact that I love sport games and I just knew that this would put me back into gaming. It didn’t! In fact I watched more games on tv than I played MLB which is totally not a common thing for me. So all the exclusives in the world won’t help me if I never play them. Nor would any third party game be played any where the amount that it would played on my Xbox if I continued it on the PS4. 


So now that I have found my love for gaming return and now I understand why it left all the times prior I now know where I belong in gaming. This may be different for others and I wouldn’t dare tell you to feel the same but Xbox is where I belong and that’s a great feeling when you know what works and doesn’t work for your life and taste. Having a system and group of people and leaders like Microsoft has in gaming is what works for me. Seeing my sons face when he can log on to his own console and play any game I have on mine console in a different room, play online on his console or with me under one gold subscription, connection to play 4k movies, streaming clubs, amazing layout interface, super fast download speeds, stable network and security, a controller that last more than 3 hours, hdr and 4k with Netflix, Vudu 4k download options, oneguide, upconvertrd 4k tv channels, amazing gaming achievements options and finally the knowledge that the most advanced and most powerful console ever made is just around the corner ready for everything I have now to just flow to it is just almost too good to believe it took this long to figure out. It was never gaming that I was loosing interest in,  it was the console and eco system. 

